Call for Papers

[PDF version]

The International Conference on Information Processing in Sensor Networks (IPSN) is a leading, single-track, annual forum on research in wireless embedded sensing systems. IPSN brings together researchers from academia, industry, and government to present and discuss recent advances in both theoretical and experimental research. Its scope includes signal and image processing, information and coding theory, databases and information management, distributed algorithms, networks and protocols, wireless communications, collaborative objects and the Internet of Things, machine learning, and embedded systems design.

IPSN is part of the Cyber-Physical Systems Week (CPS Week), which will bring together other leading CPS conferences including International Conference on Hybrid Systems (HSCC'12), International Conference on Cyber-Physical Systems (ICCPS'12), and IEEE Real-Time and Embedded Technology and Applications Symposium (RTAS'12).

The IPSN conference features two interleaved tracks, the Information Processing (IP) track, and the Sensor Platforms, Tools and Design Methods (SPOTS) track. Authors should carefully review the intended foci of these two tracks to decide which track is better suited for their work, and they are encouraged to contact program chairs with questions or clarifications. As an example of the different foci, results focused on the analysis and processing aspects of data collected from deployments should be submitted to the IP track, while details on the hardware and software platforms and tools used in the deployment should be submitted to SPOTS. The Information Processing (IP) track focuses on algorithms, theory, and systems for information processing using networks of embedded sensors. Topics covered in this track include, but are not limited to:

  • Applications and deployment experiences
  • Coding, compression and information theory
  • Data processing, storage and management
  • Detection, classification, and tracking
  • Distributed algorithms and reasoning
  • Distributed and collaborative signal processing
  • Fundamental bounds and formulations
  • Location, time, and other network services
  • Sensor tasking, control, and actuation
  • Network protocols
  • Programming models and languages
  • Innovative mobile sensing applications
  • User interfaces for sensing applications and systems
  • Innovative sensing platforms including crowd sourcing

The Sensor Platforms, Tools, and Design Methods (SPOTS) track focuses on new hardware and software architectures, modeling, evaluation, deployment experiences, design methods, implementations, and tools for networked embedded sensor systems. Submissions are expected to refer to specific hardware, software, and implementations. Topics covered in the SPOTS track include, but are not limited to:

  • Novel sensor network components, device platforms and architectures
  • Embedded software for sensor networks
  • Design tools and methodologies for sensor networks
  • System modeling, simulation, measurements, and analysis
  • Case studies that describe experiences, highlight challenges, and study/compare the performance of platforms and tools
  • Network health monitoring and management
  • Operating systems and runtime environments
  • Simulation

Organizing Committee

General Chair: Feng Zhao, Microsoft Research Asia
TPC Co-Chair (IP Track): Andreas Terzis, Johns Hopkins University
TPC Co-Chair (SPOTS Track): Kamin Whitehouse, University of Virginia
Demo Chair: Xiaofan Jiang, Microsoft Research Asia
Poster Chair: Pei Zhang, Carnegie Mellon University
Workshop/Tutorial Chair: Thiemo Voigt, Swedish Institute of Computer Science
Publications Chair: Jie Gao, SUNY Stony Brook
Finance and Sponsorship Chair: Xenofon Koutsoukos, Vanderbilt University
Web Chair: Nic Lane, Microsoft Research Asia
Publicity Co-Chairs: Luca Mottola, Swedish Institute of Computer Science
Ying Zhang, Palo Alto Research Center
PhD Forum Co-Chairs: Luca Mottola, Swedish Institute of Computer Science
Cui Li, Institute of Computing Technology, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Steering Committee

Feng Zhao, Microsoft Research Asia (Chair)
Tarek Abdelzaher, UIUC
Deborah Estrin, UCLA
Leo Guibas, Stanford
P.R. Kumar, UIUC
Sri Kumar, SRI International
José Moura, CMU
John Stankovic, UVA
Janos Sztipanovits, Vanderbilt
William Kaiser, UCLA