Call for Papers










Demos & Posters




Travel Grants






Hotel & Travel



Tuesday 13 April


Opening remarks


Plenary speaker: Sten Grillner, Karolinska Institute


Coffee Break


Session --- Programming (Chair: Kamin Whitehouse )


Programming Storage-centric Sensor Networks with Squirrel

Luca Mottola (Swedish Institute of Computer Science)


Distributed Genetic Evolution in WSN

Philip Valencia (CSIRO ICT Centre), Peter Lindsay (CSIRO ICT Centre), Raja Jurdak (The University of Queensland)


Slotted Programming for Sensor Networks

Roland Flury, Roger Wattenhofer (ETH)




Session --- Distributed Algorithms (Chair: Carlo Fischione)


Consensus-Based Distributed Linear Support Vector Machines

Pedro A. Forero, Alfonso Cano, Georgios B. Giannakis (University of Minnesota)


On-line Sensing Task Optimization for Shared Sensors

Arsalan Tavakoli (University of California, Berkeley), Aman Kansal (Microsoft Research), Suman Nath (Microsoft Research)


Information Processing for Live Photo Mosaic with a Group of Wireless Image Sensors

Fulu Li, James Barabas, Ana L. Santos (MIT Media Lab)


Coffee Break


Session --- Security (Chair: Suman Nath)


Robust Uncorrelated Bit Extraction Methodologies for Wireless Sensors

Jessica Croft, Neal Patwari, Sneha Kumar Kasera (University of Utah)


Self-Identifying Sensor Data

Stephen Chong (Harvard University), Christian Skalka (University of Vermont), Jeffrey A. Vaughan (Harvard University)


IPSN’10 Business Meeting


Poster and Demo Presentations with Reception

Wednesday 14 April (SPOTS)


Plenary speaker: Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli, UC Berkeley


Coffee Break


Session --- Services and Middleware (Chair: Pedro Marron)


A System for Distributed Event Detection in Wireless Sensor Networks

Georg Wittenburg, Norman Dziengel, Christian Wartenburger, and Jochen Schiller (Freie Universitat Berlin)


Ear-Phone: An End-to-End Participatory Urban Noise Mapping System   

Rajib Kumar Rana (University of New South Wales, CSIRO ICT Centre),  Chun Tung Chou (University of New South Wales), Salil S. Kanhee (University of New South Wales), Nirupama Bulusu (Portland State University), Wen Hu (CSIRO ICT Centre)


Diagnostic Powertracing for Sensor Node Failure Analysis  

Mohammad Maifi Hasan Khan, Hieu K. Le, Michael LeMay, Parya Moinzadeh, Lili Wang, Yong Yang, Dong K. Noh, Tarek Abdelzaher, Carl A. Gunter, Jiawei Han, Xin Jin (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)




Session --- Resource-efficiency Issues (Chair: Koen Langendoen)


Hibernets: Energy-efficient sensor networks using analog signal processing

Brandon Rumberg, David W. Graham, Vinod Kulathumani (West Virginia University)


LAKON: A middle-ground approach to high-frequency data acquisition and in-network processing in sensor networks

Prashanth G. Reddy, Nigamanth Sridhar (Cleveland State University)


High-Resolution, Low-Power Time Synchronization an Oxymoron No More

Thomas Schmid (University of California, Los Angeles), Prabal Dutta (University of Michigan), Mani Srivastava (University of California, Los Angeles)


Coffee Break


Session --- Correctness and Reliability (Chair: Akos Ledeczi)


Multichannel Reliability Assessment in Real World WSNs   

Jorge Ortiz, David Culler (University of California, Berkeley)


T-Check: Bug Finding for Sensor Networks

Peng Li, John Regehr (University of Utah)


KleeNet: Discovering Insidious Interaction Bugs in Wireless Sensor Networks Before Deployment    

Raimondas Sasnauskas, Olaf Landsiedel, Muhammad Hamad Alizai, Carsten Weise, Stefan Kowalewski,  Klaus Wehrle (RWTH Aachen University)


Run Time Assurance of Application-Level Requirements in Wireless Sensor Networks

Yafeng Wu, Krasimira Kapitanova, Jingyuan Li, John A. Stankovic, Sang H. Son, and Kamin Whitehouse (University of Virginia)




Thursday 15 April


Plenary speaker: John Stankovic, University of Virginia


Coffee Break


Session --- Sensor Selection (Chair: Adam Dunkels)        


Bayesian optimization for sensor set selection

Roman Garnett, Michael Osborne and Stephen Roberts (University of Oxford)


Online Distributed Sensor Selection

Daniel Golovin, Matthew Faulkner, Andreas Krause (California Institute of Technology)


Covering Space for In-Network Sensor Data Storage

Rik Sarkar (Stony Brook University), Wei Zeng (Wayne State University), Jie Gao (Stony Brook University), Xianfeng Gu (Stony Brook University)




Session --- Action Recognition (Chair: Jie Liu)


Collaborative Signal Processing for Action Recognition in Body Sensor Networks: A Distributed Classification Algorithm Using Motion Transcripts

Hassan Ghasemzadeh, Vitali Loseu, Roozbeh Jafari (University of Texas at Dallas)


Distributed Estimation of Linear Acceleration for Improved Accuracy in Wireless Inertial Motion Capture

Alexander Young, martin Ling, D.K. Arvind (University of Edinburgh)


Markov-Optimal Sensing Policy for User State Estimation in Mobile Devices

Yi Wang (University of Southern California), Bhaskar Krishnamachari (University of Southern California), Qing Zhao (University of California, Davis), Murali Annavaram (University of Southern California)


Coffee Break


Session --- Routing Protocols (Chair: Luca Mottola)


Routing Without Routes: The Backpressure Collection Protocol

Scott Moeller (University of Southern California), Avinash Sridharan (University of Southern California), Bhaskar Ksrishnamachari (University of Southern California), Omprakash Gnawali (Stanford University)


Data Stashing: Energy-Efficient Information Delivery to Mobile Sinks through Trajectory Prediction

HyungJune Lee (Stanford University), Martin Wicke (University of California, Berkeley), Branislav Kusy (CSIRO ICT Centre), Omprakash Gnawali (Stanford University), Leonidas Guibas (Stanford University)


Addressing Burstiness for Reliable Communication and Latency Bound Generation in Wireless Sensor Networks

Sirajum Munir, Shan Lin, Enamul Hoque, S. M. Shahriar Nirjon, John A. Stankovic, Kamin Whitehouse (University of Virginia)




Session --- MAC and Link Layer Problems (Chair: Tarek Abdelzaher)


I-MAC - a MAC that learns

Krishna Chintalapudi (Microsoft Research India)


Adaptive IEEE 802.15.4 Protocol for Energy Efficient, Reliable and Timely Communications

Pangun Park, Carlo Fiscione, Karl Henrik Johansson (Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)


Practical Modeling and Prediction of Sensor Network Coverage of Indoor Environments

Octav Chipara, Gregory Hackmann, Chenyang Lu, William D. Smart, Gruia-Catalin Roman (Washington University in St. Louis)


U-Connect : A Low-Latency Energy-Efficient Asynchronous Neighbor Discovery Protocol for Mobile Sensor Networks

Arvind Kandhalu, Karthik Lakshmanan, Raj Rajkumar (Carnegie Mellon University)